Sponsors

Vote for TFF UK


AquaRank.com

Recent Topics

Gallery

Love_Light.jpg

Posted by stonec0ld

Ammonia Calculator

Articles on TFF UK

Donate to TFF!

If we have been of help please consider making a Donation to TFF UK

Or sign up to a quarterly subscription at £10 every 3 months

Every Little Helps

Advertisements


Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 840422
  • Total Topics: 66454
  • Online Today: 95
  • Online Ever: 340
  • (November 03, 2012, 08:29:45 PM)
Users Online

RSS Feeds

Author Topic: High nitrate 160ppm  (Read 384 times)

Online Mat246

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 6
  • -Receive: 0
  • Posts: 84
High nitrate 160ppm
« on: May 18, 2017, 02:16:55 PM »
Posted in my old thread but thought a new one would get noticed more. So just did a test and nitrate is super high! So how how much of a water change should I do? Also can anyone confirm what my ammonia and nitrite levels are in the picture attached, I'd say both are 0.25

TropicalFishForums

  • Advertisement
  • ***

    Offline Gingerlove05

    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Thank You
    • -Given: 916
    • -Receive: 1004
    • Posts: 5398
    Re: High nitrate 160ppm
    « Reply #1 on: May 18, 2017, 02:29:24 PM »
    Both ammonia and nitrite are definitely reading at least 0.25 and your nitrate is high.
    I would do a 50% change at least especially if you have fish, to dilute the toxins. Also seachem prime is a good water conditioner to have for situations like this.
    Have you done anything recently that could have caused a spike in the levels? For example cleaning/over cleaning the filter or changing sponges or other filter media?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    Online Mat246

    • Jr. Member
    • **
    • Thank You
    • -Given: 6
    • -Receive: 0
    • Posts: 84
    Re: High nitrate 160ppm
    « Reply #2 on: May 18, 2017, 02:39:35 PM »
    Both ammonia and nitrite are definitely reading at least 0.25 and your nitrate is high.
    I would do a 50% change at least especially if you have fish, to dilute the toxins. Also seachem prime is a good water conditioner to have for situations like this.
    Have you done anything recently that could have caused a spike in the levels? For example cleaning/over cleaning the filter or changing sponges or other filter media?



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Only thing I can think of is one of my minnows died the other day, I removed it as soon as I saw it but it had been munched on by my snails. I haven't cleaned my filter in a few weeks but do a 25% water change each week. I do have prime aswell
    « Last Edit: May 18, 2017, 02:41:52 PM by Mat246 »

    Offline Gingerlove05

    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Thank You
    • -Given: 916
    • -Receive: 1004
    • Posts: 5398
    Re: High nitrate 160ppm
    « Reply #3 on: May 18, 2017, 03:27:24 PM »
    How long has the tank been running?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    Online Mat246

    • Jr. Member
    • **
    • Thank You
    • -Given: 6
    • -Receive: 0
    • Posts: 84
    Re: High nitrate 160ppm
    « Reply #4 on: May 18, 2017, 03:30:18 PM »
    How long has the tank been running?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    A few years but admittedly haven't done things properly until a couple months ago like checking water etc and cleaning filters in tap water. But the tank should be cycled by now I would of thought, it's never been without fish in.

    Offline Gingerlove05

    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Thank You
    • -Given: 916
    • -Receive: 1004
    • Posts: 5398
    Re: High nitrate 160ppm
    « Reply #5 on: May 18, 2017, 03:56:47 PM »
    Yeah dont clean the filters in tap water, only do one sponge/tray at a time, and only do one a month. Just a swill in tank water taken out from changes.
    When was the last time you cleaned the filters in tap water? Or cleaned them lately?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    Online Mat246

    • Jr. Member
    • **
    • Thank You
    • -Given: 6
    • -Receive: 0
    • Posts: 84
    Re: High nitrate 160ppm
    « Reply #6 on: May 18, 2017, 04:01:26 PM »
    Yeah dont clean the filters in tap water, only do one sponge/tray at a time, and only do one a month. Just a swill in tank water taken out from changes.
    When was the last time you cleaned the filters in tap water? Or cleaned them lately?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Haven't done that in a few months, last cleaned the filter about 3 weeks ago

    Online Mat246

    • Jr. Member
    • **
    • Thank You
    • -Given: 6
    • -Receive: 0
    • Posts: 84
    Re: High nitrate 160ppm
    « Reply #7 on: May 19, 2017, 04:24:48 PM »
    Did a 50% water change yesterday and got it in the orange, however today I retested and it's gone back up - not exactly sure what it's on so can anyone say for definite from the pic?

    Offline Suelo

    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Thank You
    • -Given: 99
    • -Receive: 123
    • Posts: 643
    Re: High nitrate 160ppm
    « Reply #8 on: May 19, 2017, 04:44:23 PM »
    I'd be interested in what others think as I had a reading last night from my cycling tank that looked this colour. I couldn't decide either what colour it was, only that it was somewhere more than 40.

    Offline Gingerlove05

    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Thank You
    • -Given: 916
    • -Receive: 1004
    • Posts: 5398
    Re: High nitrate 160ppm
    « Reply #9 on: May 19, 2017, 05:11:29 PM »
    Mines regularly 40-80ppm a similar colour to yours now (but i cant tell the difference on the card), i have had a slight orange (20ppm) once or twice lately but thats me experimenting with my ferts.
    Do you have any plants? And is it possible theres any rotting plant matter, i think that would increase nitrates as it could possibly cause a spike in ammonia as well.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    Online Mat246

    • Jr. Member
    • **
    • Thank You
    • -Given: 6
    • -Receive: 0
    • Posts: 84
    Re: High nitrate 160ppm
    « Reply #10 on: May 19, 2017, 05:18:24 PM »
    Mines regularly 40-80ppm a similar colour to yours now (but i cant tell the difference on the card), i have had a slight orange (20ppm) once or twice lately but thats me experimenting with my ferts.
    Do you have any plants? And is it possible theres any rotting plant matter, i think that would increase nitrates as it could possibly cause a spike in ammonia as well.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Only plant I have is frogbit and my snails have been eating it so wil have to remove it

    Offline Gingerlove05

    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Thank You
    • -Given: 916
    • -Receive: 1004
    • Posts: 5398
    Re: High nitrate 160ppm
    « Reply #11 on: May 19, 2017, 06:07:03 PM »
    This just gets more and more baffling.
    I take it the filter is running correctly and the impeller is not jamming or running slow?
    Might be worth a look and a clean if you see any gunk built up around it.
    I am running out of ideas though :/


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    Offline kas

    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Thank You
    • -Given: 609
    • -Receive: 817
    • Posts: 3846
    • The future starts today, not tomorrow.
    Re: High nitrate 160ppm
    « Reply #12 on: May 19, 2017, 06:27:02 PM »
    What is the nitrate level in your tap water?
    Tank 250 L Amazonian Wild Thing!

    Offline Suelo

    • Hero Member
    • *****
    • Thank You
    • -Given: 99
    • -Receive: 123
    • Posts: 643
    Re: High nitrate 160ppm
    « Reply #13 on: May 19, 2017, 07:07:41 PM »
    I was just reading back through some of your other posts. I don't know whether it makes a difference, but have you just changed from cold water to tropical on this tank? If so, I wonder if the filter bacteria are still adjusting, or whether different processes are beginning to work on whatever is in your tanks e.g. breaking down old plant matter?

    Online Mat246

    • Jr. Member
    • **
    • Thank You
    • -Given: 6
    • -Receive: 0
    • Posts: 84
    Re: High nitrate 160ppm
    « Reply #14 on: May 19, 2017, 08:16:49 PM »
    This just gets more and more baffling.
    I take it the filter is running correctly and the impeller is not jamming or running slow?
    Might be worth a look and a clean if you see any gunk built up around it.
    I am running out of ideas though :/


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Filter is running fine but I could clean it I suppose