• Total Topics: 70247
  • Online Today: 83
  • Online Ever: 874
  • (January 15, 2020, 07:42:34 am)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 43
Total: 43

Author Topic: 350 Litre tank 121cm x 56cm x 66cm How much gravel?  (Read 3191 times)

lindylindylindy

350 Litre tank 121cm x 56cm x 66cm How much gravel?
« on: July 06, 2010, 01:39:32 pm »
Hi, i am a newbie to your site  *dontknow* i have bought myself a Juwel Rio 300 and i am trying to guestimate how much pea gravel should i purchase to cover bottom of tank?

In fact i am not sure what to put in the bottom or from where, so please any advise would be great. I want a natural looking tank no bright colours, oh and i know this is a tropical site but the tank will bbe cold water and home to fancy Goldfish  *fish2* *fish2*

I do have 3 Tropical tanks so dont worry the questions will come thick and fast  ;)

Thank you in advance  *frantic*

TropicalFishForums

• Advertisement

Offline drain_bamaged

• Est. Member
    • Thank You
    • -Given: 0
    • -Receive: 4
    Re: 350 Litre tank 121cm x 56cm x 66cm How much gravel?
    « Reply #1 on: July 06, 2010, 02:44:31 pm »
    As a rule natural plants and Goldfish don't mix well in tanks so i am assuming you don't need a particularly deep layer of substrate for plants to root, have you thought about the cheap playsand from Argos, it can be prone to packing down tightly and needs a regular stir when it's deeper but i wouldn't think you would have that problem with just 1/2 to 1 inch of it.

John

lindylindylindy

« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2010, 09:59:29 am »
    Hi never thought of sand and yes no plants, i have purchased silk plants for the coverage... I have bought 20 kg of pea gravel but it wont go very far, so i may mix with the sand... I love forums always full of great ideas. Argos play sand  *applause* would never have thought it!

Thank you very much

lindylindylindy

« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2010, 03:06:20 pm »
    OK STUPID QUESTION NUMBER ONE  *crazy* *dontknow*