Forum > Fish Health Discussion.

Tiger Barbs Dying! Help!

(1/3) > >>

benh1996:
Hiya everyone Im new to fish keeping so please be kind lol. I had 6 tiger barbs in a 6 gallon tank for around a month. Now before you say, yes I know this is no where near enough room for them. The store I got them from never told me about size restrictions. If i would of known I would never of got them. The store also unables you to take them back so unfortunately I was stuck with them. Until Tuesday they were fine. I had the tank up and running for about 2 weeks before getting them and I also have had them for about 4 weeks now.

On Tuesday I woke up to find one floating around at the top still alive but unable to swim properly. He was just floating around his fins moving unable to swim. I tried giving him frozen peas and doing a water change. He died on the night. The tank also smelt quite pungent. I must add that he was extremely fat which I think is because of overfeeding. I used to do 2 large pinches a day until I realised I was overfeeding. Now I do 1 pinch a day. I think the overfeeding caused Ammonia? I didn't realise until now. I have been doing 25% water changes for the past few days.