Forum > Tank Logs.

MrChips's American Cichlid tank 'setup n stocking log'

(1/6) > >>

MrChips:
Hi all.
New to this forum and I thought I would start a log here to plot my progress as I get a new tank set up.

I used to keep fish around 20 years ago(that makes me feel old), and used to keep a tank of Malawi Cichlids and also a tank with a group of Oscars.
My interest sparked again when i saw some great looking aquariums recently, and I realised ive kinda missed not having an aquarium to potter around with in my spare time.

Well I thought about it, and decided this might be a good time to get back into fishkeeping.  *fish*
It was the American Cichlids that caught my eye this time around and decided this i what i would like to try my hand at.

After all, I have some experience, so how hard can it be to keep americans....?

I looked around for a tank/cabinet combo. Something that would look smart in my lounge.
Finally, after searching for a second hand one and not finding one i liked, I settled on getting a new one.

I picked a tank/cab from ND Aquatics, a 6'x2'x2' that would fit into an alcove in my lounge.
While i waited for it to be built i got all the other essentials i would need.
1x APS 2000lh external filter+booster filter(frees up a basket in main filter for more biomedia, and keeps mechanical filtration in separate canister.
2x 300w heaters
1x Reefsurge 8000 (for circulation)
Lots of wood
Lots of fake plants (don't crucify me for this)
Limpopo black sand, 3 bags of

While doing more research i realised that keeping soft water fish in a hard water area would not be so straight forward.
So i have opted for using an RO filter to achieve softer water.(more on that later).