• Total Topics: 70248
  • Online Today: 72
  • Online Ever: 874
  • (January 15, 2020, 07:42:34 am)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 57
Total: 57

Author Topic: Newbie Juwel Lido 200  (Read 522 times)

Offline Khianu

• Thank You
  • -Given: 1
  • -Receive: 0
Newbie Juwel Lido 200
« on: March 02, 2019, 05:36:43 pm »
Hey guys,

Relative newbie here, I've had a biube (it was a gift, I didn't know, I'm sorry!) set up in past with half a dozen endlers in but that was the limit of my experience. Good thing I enjoy doing research.

My partner bought me a Juwel Lido 200 from LFS Maidenhead Aquatics Basingstoke for my birthday and so I jumped online to do my research, and subsequently spend lots of money. First thing was to upgrade the pump in the filter from 600 to 1000l/h, and rearrange the media to include lots of bags of biohome media instead of plain sponges. Bought substrate which involved a few reduced (split) bags of mismatched substrate which ultimately ended up in us doing half the floor with sand and the other half with gravel (it actually came out pretty good). On top of that we have driftwood and a variety of easy care plants which were added this week (pics below).

In terms of stocking I've always said that when I got a larger tank I wanted gouramis, so I'd like to get some yellow honey gouramis as a top ish level fish. Then I'd like to have a couple of schools, maybe 10 endlers and 10 rummy nose tetra, then corys or kuhli loaches at the bottom.

I have today tested the water and discovered to my deep disappointment that our tap water has around 40ppm nitrates. Is this a deal breaker? If I keep water changes frequent and keep the aquarium well planted can I get by? Do I need to drop lots of money on a reverse osmosis filter? I'm in Basingstoke so the water is very hard and the ph high, though the driftwood helps.

I have nevertheless added ammonia to the tank to start the cycle and will keep you posted with how it progresses.