• Total Topics: 70296
  • Online Today: 115
  • Online Ever: 874
  • (January 15, 2020, 07:42:34 am)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 52
Total: 52

Author Topic: Set up advice for Cupid Cichlids.  (Read 2309 times)

Offline stechappo

• Thank You
  • -Given: 10
  • -Receive: 4
Set up advice for Cupid Cichlids.
« on: June 30, 2019, 12:14:48 pm »
So this is my first time keeping Cupid Cichlids and I'm looking for advice on the setup,  I started out with 2 Cupids who got along great very active and moved around the tank a lot they where in with 10 Dwarf Neon Rainbowfish, 6 Noen Tetras a BN Plec and 3 Cory's.  Picked up another 3 Cupids from same shop and now all 5 just tend to either hide out or bicker, no damage being done but generally all look a bit stressed.  So what I would like is some advice on the layout for my tank, should I remove the rockwork and lesson down the territories they have or add more and space it out a bit better to give more defined areas for each fish, any suggestions most welcome.  Below is a picture of the setup just after I changed the substrate( much clearer now :) ).

Cheers
327LTR South American(ish)  APS1000EF External Filter, APS250ltr internal with just Bio media Filter.
3 Albino Corydoras
15 Neon Tetras
2 Apistogramma Cacatuoides Orange 1 male 1 female

TropicalFishForums

• Advertisement

Offline Stephen

• TFF Staff Retired
    • Superhero Member
    • Thank You
    • -Given: 147
    • -Receive: 2052
    Re: Set up advice for Cupid Cichlids.
    « Reply #1 on: June 30, 2019, 11:30:24 pm »
    Cupid cichlids are beautiful fish (I have 7).
    5 is probably maximum in your 4 foot tank but they do require defined territory especially if they pair up (2 foot per pair).
    I would add some large bogwood pieces to create defined territories.
    Male Cupids may squabble, this is usually by chasing or even by locking jaws to determine dominance.