• Total Topics: 70258
  • Online Today: 87
  • Online Ever: 874
  • (January 15, 2020, 07:42:34 am)
Users Online
Users: 1
Guests: 61
Total: 62

Author Topic: complete noob...............  (Read 906 times)

zoeb2912

complete noob...............
« on: March 22, 2012, 02:03:30 pm »
Hi all

I am completely new to aquascaping.

i am going to focus on my main tank for now which is 90x30x30.

i would like to aquascape whilst trying to be biotope correct.

for my final stock i would like pearl gourami, harlequin rasbora and kuhli loaches.

i have sand substrate and bogwood to start with and have ordered some java fern and vallis. i have used slate pieces to prop the wood where i want it.

im not using co2 or any high tech as im tying to get to grips with the layout first.

i have attached some pics of my hardscape and would like yr thoughts on it please.

really would like a WOW tank.

thanks xx

TropicalFishForums

• Advertisement

Offline stonec0ld

• Superhero Member
    • Thank You
    • -Given: 1
    • -Receive: 20
    Re: complete noob...............
    « Reply #1 on: March 22, 2012, 02:25:15 pm »
    Take a look at this

http://www.aquahobby.com/articles/e_aquascaping.php

So you're looking at a south east Asian biotope, I did one similar

https://www.tropicalfishforums.co.uk/index.php?topic=24297.0

zoeb2912

« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2012, 04:14:00 pm »
    thanks for the links.

i have read alot about aquascaping general rules.

id like some critigue on my current hardscape please.

also, for the stocking now iv seen yrs could tiger barbs go with gourami and rasboras? and also how many would you suggest for my tank size?

throughout my 3 tanks at home i have got
    2 pearl gourami
    2 opaline gourami
    2 gold var gourami
    3 honey gourami
    10 harle rasbora
    6 black skirt tetra
    6 kuhli loaches
    2 blue rams
    3 male endlers
    1 male guppy
    6 bronze corys
    and loads of cherry shrimp.

how would you group them for best affect?

thanks x