• Total Topics: 70296
  • Online Today: 115
  • Online Ever: 874
  • (January 15, 2020, 07:42:34 am)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 79
Total: 79

Author Topic: Low budget tank  (Read 5749 times)

Offline yorkiemad00

• Est. Member
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 0
  • -Receive: 0
Low budget tank
« on: July 06, 2012, 08:05:44 pm »
Thought I would start a log to document the setting up of my second tank. (Even if most of it is set up now and not really mine either)

I have been having great fun setting up the tank. I am a science teacher and after setting up an aquarium at home a few months ago, decided I would like one in my teaching lab at school. I should have taken picture as I went along but I guess I will have to start now *oops*

The main aim of this tank was to be interesting, low maintanance and most importantly cheap. It had to have a good lid with no gaps that teenagers could stuff things into.

Finding my tank
After looking around for cheap tanks, I managed to source one from within school so it was entirely free *applause*

Turned out to be two tanks, four filters and a heater.

The main 60L tank was last used to house a couple of fancy goldfish a year ago and had since sat dry and filthy in the sixthform common room completely unloved and being cursed as an ugly eyesore.

Cleaning
I got it moved into my lab and started the long job of cleaning it up. Most of the 'dirt' was limescale due to our local water being liquid chalk. Concentrated HCl from the chemical stored took care of that, but it took alot of rinsing to get rid of the HCl smell after. Any traces left would be neutralised by the hard alkaline tap water.