Sponsors

Recent Topics

Ammonia Calculator

Articles on TFF UK

Advertisements


Members
Stats
  • Total Posts: 873223
  • Total Topics: 70243
  • Online Today: 52
  • Online Ever: 874
  • (January 15, 2020, 07:42:34 am)
Users Online
Users: 0
Guests: 38
Total: 38

Author Topic: Changing a substrate  (Read 9068 times)

Offline plankton

  • TFF Staff Retired
  • Superhero Member
  • *****
  • Thank You
  • -Given: 162
  • -Receive: 6657
  • Posts: 82699
  • I will say this only once, OK a million times....
Re: Changing a substrate
« Reply #30 on: June 08, 2016, 08:38:03 am »
Only use fish that eat snails as a last resort, if you don't overfeed you shouldn't get a population explosion......(there are much smaller loaches that do the same job, but all should be in a minimum group of 6 ;) )
Sent from my PC as I still don't understand the the logic for mobile internet usage ;) *grin*
I really hate "autocorrupt"!!!

"We found this spoon sir"

Take it easy
Ian

TropicalFishForums

  • Advertisement
  • ***

    Offline adamdunkley

    • Full Member
    • **
    • Thank You
    • -Given: 49
    • -Receive: 13
    • Posts: 457
    Re: Changing a substrate
    « Reply #31 on: June 08, 2016, 09:04:10 am »
    So what else would be good to have in my tank?
    currently I have..
    8 neon tetra
    1 angel fish (she killed the other)
    4 dragon tail guppys
    1 leopard tail guppy
    (both guppy types have been a nightmare and killing each other but now seem peaceful)
    pleco (soon to go as he will get way to big, miss sold as a small one)
    Juwel Rio 125, Tropical & Planted

    Offline plankton

    • TFF Staff Retired
    • Superhero Member
    • *****
    • Thank You
    • -Given: 162
    • -Receive: 6657
    • Posts: 82699
    • I will say this only once, OK a million times....
    Re: Changing a substrate
    « Reply #32 on: June 08, 2016, 09:45:34 am »
    I think it's time for a new thread, as this is a sticky about swapping substrate ;) :)
    Sent from my PC as I still don't understand the the logic for mobile internet usage ;) *grin*
    I really hate "autocorrupt"!!!

    "We found this spoon sir"

    Take it easy
    Ian

    Offline Grahamsokel

    • Jr. Member
    • *
    • Thank You
    • -Given: 5
    • -Receive: 0
    • Posts: 18
    Re: Changing a substrate
    « Reply #33 on: March 08, 2017, 10:02:30 am »
    Interesting thread, I am going to change over to sand. I actually have the sand I am just building up to doing it 😂

    Offline dinofred1

    • Est. Member
    • ***
    • Thank You
    • -Given: 4
    • -Receive: 107
    • Posts: 730
    Re: Changing a substrate
    « Reply #34 on: August 22, 2017, 06:41:45 pm »
    just wondering, could it be done in section say 6 inch wide strips at a time, take out a strip of gravel, use something like drain pipe to get the sand to the bottom of the tank.
    Juwel 400 Mollies, Neon Tetras, Guppies, Angles, Clown Loach, Bristle nose, gourami, Barbs, rainbows.

    Offline aHumanError

    • Jr. Member
    • *
    • Thank You
    • -Given: 1
    • -Receive: 0
    • Posts: 18
    Re: Changing a substrate
    « Reply #35 on: December 22, 2019, 10:54:27 pm »
    Some good advice in this post.

    I'm about to tackle this very soon in my 70l tank; I'm switching from gravel to sand. Only I've had extra load of biomax in the tank for a few weeks leading up to it to help hang onto the bacteria, can't do any harm, right?