• Total Topics: 70268
  • Online Today: 71
  • Online Ever: 874
  • (January 15, 2020, 07:42:34 am)
Users Online
Users: 1
Guests: 53
Total: 54

Author Topic: Nehpets Asian Tank - 90L to 200l change  (Read 7151 times)

Offline nehpets81

• Thank You
  • -Given: 28
  • -Receive: 16
Nehpets Asian Tank - 90L to 200l change
« on: March 09, 2014, 11:24:38 pm »
So, after getting some advice on this forum I thought I would give something back and describe how my tanks are coming along with some tank logs.

As of Friday, my two tanks consisted of:

125L - 4 x Sterbai Cory, 2 x Cardinal Tetra, 6 x Amano Shrimp
90L - About 12 guppies of varying ages and size.

Although I had been keeping fish for three years, as you can see I had fell out of love with fishkeeping and not really spent much time on my tanks.  They weren't always in such a sorry state.   Although the smaller tank was always a Guppy tank, the current stocking were all at least second generation with the original stock from the LFS being very sickly.  The larger tank saw 3 Corys succumb to some sort fading and wasting away which was very sad as I love those guys; 5 cherry shrimp bit the dust during last summer's heatwave when I really struggled with bottled ice and drawn curtains to keep the tank under about 30 degrees.  The last one disappeared during a recent holiday;  4 cardinal tetras dies shortly after being added to the tank; and a total of six threadfin rainbow fish died within a few months (most of which had spent at least some time outside the tank at some stage as they constantly jumped out during water changes).  So, for the past few months I had been pretty demoralised with only the Amano shrimps never suffering any casualties.

I should probably point out that my tap water is not that conusive to keeping most of these fish with a hardness of 257ppm and Nitrate levels of 27ppm.